The Mundane

IMG_3890

mundane (adj.)

  • Lacking interest or excitement; dull.
  • Of this earthly world rather than a heavenly or spiritual one

It was a few years ago that I started to recognize something was missing in my life.  It was always easy for me to do the right thing –keeping up with grades, getting a job, and giving it all at work.  Every day felt like a cycle on loop with no pause button.  I was never able to find the missing piece until I went to Japan to study for a semester. I never realized that getting a job, making money and growing old wasn’t the only option I had in life.

Now looking back I have come to call this endless loop “The Mundane”.  Although, commonly used as an adjective, it is actually best used as a noun.

When I traveled for the first time ever, it felt like a rush of emotions.  The intense sensation of being satisfied yet needing more.  I don’t have a name for this yet, but it would definitely be an antonym of mundane.

Traveling became my pause button in life.  A little short of an addiction, though many would argue otherwise, in the last 4 years I’ve somehow managed to visit 17 countries and countless cities. The count continues as R. and I brew up our Balkan adventure…

 

S.

One thought on “The Mundane

Leave a Reply

